Senate Republicans Elect Leadership Team for 2019-20

(HARRISBURG) — Senate Republicans today elected their leaders for the 2019-20 legislative session.

Senator Joe Scarnati (R-25) has been nominated once again to serve as President Pro Tempore. The full Senate will vote on Scarnati’s nomination when it reconvenes in January. As President Pro Tempore, he will be responsible for appointing the chairpersons and members of the standing committees of the Senate. He will also play a significant role in negotiations with the Administration and the House of Representatives.

Senator Jake Corman (R-34) will serve his third term as Majority Leader. His duties include overseeing the legislative agenda, developing policies and strategies for the Senate Republican Caucus, and playing a key role in floor debates. He will also have a major role in negotiating issues with the Administration and House of Representatives and in coordinating action on the Senate floor.

Leadership of the Appropriations Committee, one of the most influential of the standing committees, will remain with Senator Pat Browne (R-16). The committee reviews all legislation for its fiscal impact and plays a crucial role in developing the state budget.

Senator John Gordner (R-27) was re-elected Majority Whip. His duties include acting as assistant floor leader, working to gain support for legislation and assuring that Republican policies and strategies are maintained through the cooperative efforts of the majority caucus.

Senator Bob Mensch (R-24) will continue to serve as Majority Caucus Chairman for the new legislative session. As chairman he presides over Republican caucus meetings to discuss bills and amendments and to develop caucus strategy.

As the Majority Caucus Secretary, Senator Richard Alloway (R-33) will continue to oversee all executive nominations submitted to the Senate for confirmation. He will coordinate the review of the background and experience of nominees and ensure that proper documentation is submitted.

Senate Republicans welcomed two new members. Senator-elect Judy Ward was elected to represent the 30th Senatorial District. A registered nurse for over 20 years, Ward served two terms in the House of Representatives. Senator-elect Kristin Phillips-Hill was elected to represent the 28th Senatorial District after serving two terms in the House of Representatives. She has extensive volunteer experience and is a former small business owner.


Kate Flessner — Senator Scarnati (717) 787-7084
Jenn Kocher — Senator Corman (717) 787-1377