Senator Gordner Takes Seat on Transportation Committee as New Session of the General Assembly Begins

(HARRISBURG) – – State Senator John R. Gordner (R-27) will serve as a member of the Senate Transportation Committee for the 2009-2010 session of the General Assembly.  Senator Gordner sought the seat and was appointed by President Pro Tempore Joseph Scarnati (R-25).

“With the recent retirement of Senate Transportation Committee Chairman Roger Madigan, I felt it was extremely important that the Central Susquehanna Valley have representation on this important panel,” said Senator Gordner.  “The committee will face numerous challenges in the coming year as we continue to address critical transportation funding needs throughout the Commonwealth and here at home with the Central Susquehanna Valley Thruway.”

Senator Gordner said he will also use his new position to continue to advocate against the proposed tolling of Interstate Route 80. “We must be vigilant as I know that the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission would like to submit another application to the federal government despite rejection of the previous two applications it has submitted,” said the Senator.

Senator Gordner will continue to chair the Senate Labor and Industry Committee in the new session.  He has been the chair of that panel since 2006.

“I’m pleased to be able to continue the important work of the Labor and Industry Committee, and we will get right to work on dealing with the Unemployment Compensation system and serious funding shortfalls,” said the Senator.  Governor Ed Rendell has appointed Senator Gordner to the Unemployment Compensation Advisory Committee, which will explore ways to address expected deficits in the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund due to the recent rise in unemployment rates as well as the extension of unemployment benefits by the federal government.

Senator Gordner has also been elevated to Vice-Chairman of the Senate Consumer Protection & Professional Licensure Committee, where he has served as a member.  He will continue to serve on the Appropriations Committee, the Community, Economic & Recreational Development Committee and the Judiciary Committee for the 2009-2010 session.