Center for Rural Pennsylvania Board Elects Officers

The Center for Rural Pennsylvania’s Board of Directors today elected Senator John Gordner as board chairman for a full two-year term. Senator Gordner, who serves the 27th Senatorial District, which includes all of Columbia, Northumberland, Montour and Snyder counties and parts of Luzerne and Dauphin counties, assumed the chairmanship in January 2006 when the Center’s former chairman retired.

Joining Senator Gordner as officers are: Representative Tina Pickett of the 110th Legislative District, which includes Sullivan County and parts of Bradford and Susquehanna counties, as vice chairman; Senator John Wozniak of the 35th Senatorial District, which includes Cambria and Clinton counties and parts of Centre, Clearfield and Somerset counties, as treasurer; and Dr. Nancy Falvo, the director of Clarion University’s Health Science Education Center, as secretary.

The Center’s Board of Directors also includes Representative Tim Seip, who represents the 125th Legislative District, which includes parts of Schuylkill and Berks counties; Steve Crawford, Governor Rendell’s secretary for Legislative Affairs; William Sturgis, executive director of the Pennsylvania Rural Development Council; Dr. Keith T. Miller, president of Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania; Dr. C. Shannon Stokes, professor in the Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology at Pennsylvania State University: Dr. Stephan J. Goetz, executive director of the Northeast Regional Center for Rural Development; and Dr. Robert F. Pack, vice provost for Academic Planning and Resources Management at the University of Pittsburgh.

The Center for Rural Pennsylvania is a bipartisan, bicameral legislative agency that serves as a resource for rural policy research within the Pennsylvania General Assembly. It was created in 1987 under Act 16, the Rural Revitalization Act, to promote and sustain the vitality of Pennsylvania’s rural and small communities.